Meet Our Team

Michael Herman

Founder & Artistic Director

Director, The Empathy Project 

Michael is a director, playwright and teacher. He loves nothing more than watching

a new play come to life. 


Michael studied Architecture at The Cooper Union, holds undergraduate degrees in Theater and English from The State

University of New York at Brockport,

and an M.F.A. in Dramatic Writing ​

from Carnegie Mellon University. 

Music is the answer.

Samwel Ludamila

Tanzania Operations, The Humanity Project

Samwel is the Founder and CEO of 

Supreme Tanzania Safaris, one of the top tour organizers and safari companies in Tanzania. In addition to being a guide himself, Samwel also runs the day to day operations of STS, as well as all Tanzania based

Humanity Project operations.​

You will not find a kinder and more

generous human anywhere.

Rachael Yoder

Managing Director

Director, The Humanity Project

​Rachael is a Chicago-based actor & teacher, and is experienced in all theater operations, as well as social media and marketing. 


Rachael holds a B.A. in Acting from SUNY Brockport, is a graduate of The Stella Adler Studio of Acting, a current M.F.A. Acting candidate at Northern Illinois University 

and a proud member of

Actors' Equity Association.

Secretly she wishes she was a

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.

Karen Herman

Executive Director & 

Head of Development

Karen is a Rochester-based accountant and financial planner. She has over 30 years of experience advising companies of all sizes and missions, and manages the finances for The Outer Loop, as well as many

other non-profit organizations.

​Karen is also a mean Words With Friends player. 

Patrick Sanga

Project Manager,

The Humanity Project

​Patrick is a civil engineer and an agriculturist in Mloka, Tanzania. He is also the project manager for all Outer Loop and Humanity Project activities in the Selous Region.

In addition to handling all of The Outer Loop's Tanzania-based projects, Patrick can show you some pretty amazing card tricks.


Jackson Kain Kibona

Director of Education,

Tanzania Office

Jackson Kain Kibona is a Tanzanian actor, screenwriter, and film producer. He holds advanced certificates in acting for film and scriptwriting from The Tanzania Film Training Center. Jackson is also a huge

fan of movies, music, and soccer.

His hobbies include reading and listening.

Gavin Struempler

Outer Loop Intern

Gavin is an actor, teacher,

and musician from Anchorage, Alaska.


He is a graduate from the Interlochen

Arts Academy and is currently a

B.F.A. Acting candidate with

Northern Illinois University.


He is always willing to answer questions

about Alaska! Yes, it is quite cold, but he unfortunately cannot see Russia from

his ice-covered abode.

Sergio Castillo


Sergio has worked extensively in

theatre, film, and television.


He has also performed on an international

tour with TheaterWorksUSA and with

many different theatre companies

around the country.


As a playwright, his work has been

produced on both coasts including

the FringeNYC festival.


BA: UCLA; MFA: Actors Studio. AEA; SAG.

Alix Burkhardt

Artistic Apprentice

Alix is currently getting her B.F.A.

in Design and Technology at

Northern Illinois University.


She started acting when she was eight

years old, and has been involved in

theater for more than half of her life.

She's also been designing and making

clothing for almost five years.


Her hobbies include reading, crochet,

and cats. Basically, anything

a grandma would enjoy.

Board of Directors

President: Michael Herman

 Vice President: Rachael Yoder

Treasurer: Karen Herman
Secretary: Brian Zorn
Board Member: Elizabeth Berl
Board Member: Sandra Mantione
Board Member: Lea-Beth Shapiro
Board Member: ​Rob Radest
Board Member: Maura Duff
Board Member: Diane Lent
Honorary Board Member: Asha Musa Dibuga
Honorary Board Member: Patrick Sanga